Charting the course 
        for public education...

Rhode Island School Superintendents' Association

2014 2015 Superintendent of the Year Selection Criteria

28 May 2014 1:31 PM | Judy Spremulli (Administrator)



The selection of the RISSA Superintendent of the Year shall be made by the RISSA Special Awards Committee subject to the policy revised by the RISSA Executive Committee on May 3, 2012.

AASA Criteria
All applicants must be active members of AASA and will be measured against the following criteria:

Leadership for Learning – creativity in successfully meeting the needs of students in his or her school system.

  • Communication – strength in both personal and organizational communication.
  • Professionalism – constant improvement of administrative knowledge and skills, while providing professional development opportunities and motivation to others on the education team.
  • Community Involvement – active participation in local community activities and an understanding of regional, national and international issues.
  • RISSA Involvement – active involvement in RISSA activities and demonstrated commitment to the goals of the organization

RISSA Criteria/Procedures

  • Three consecutive years as a full-time superintendent in Rhode Island (current year is included)

·         Actively involved in RISSA activities

·         Any active or retired member of RISSA may nominate one of the eligible candidates.

·        Nominations are due by: June 9, 2014

·        All superintendents nominated will be asked to submit a resume with a declaration of their wish to be considered.  If there are more than 5 nominees, the Special Awards Committee will use the resumes to select the finalists who will then be required to complete a minimum of three questions prior to the meeting of the selection Committee in July.  If a superintendent was nominated and submitted responses in 2014, he/she may opt to leave answers as previously submitted, update them or submit new responses.

·        Any member of the Special Awards Committee nominated will be replaced for this process.



·         Michael Barnes(SOY 2014)

·         Sue Lusi

·         Georgia Fortunato

·         Bernie DiLullo

·         Fran Gallo

·         Rosemarie Kraeger  (SOY 2006)

·         Steve Lindberg

·         Victor Mercurio

·         Bob O’Brien (SOY 2010)

·         Donna Ottaviano (SOY 2012)

·         Frank Pallotta (SOY 2013)

·         Bill Rearick

·         Barry Ricci

·         Roy Seitsinger

·         Kathy Sipala (SOY 2011)

·         Kristen Stringfellow

·         Phil Thornton

·         Vonna Donoyan

·         Phil Auger



NOTE: AASA considers a person who has previously been selected to still be eligible.


2480 Post Road, Warwick, RI  02886

Mailing Address:  PO Box 7791, Warwick, RI  02887

(p) 401.272.9811, Press 3
(f) 401.272.9834
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software