Charting the course 
        for public education...

Rhode Island School Superintendents' Association

AASA Announces National Superintendent of the Year

15 Feb 2019 7:59 AM | Tom DiPaola (Administrator)

Georgia’s Curtis Jones Named 2019 AASA National Superintendent of the Year®

Announcement Made at AASA’s National Conference on Education  


Los Angeles – Feb. 14, 2019 – Curtis Jones Jr., superintendent of Bibb County School District in Macon, Ga., has been named the 2019 AASA National Superintendent of the Year®. Today’s announcement came at the National Conference on Education, hosted by AASA, The School Superintendents Association.


The conference is also serving as a platform to highlight AASA’s Leaders Matter campaign, an initiative created to showcase school districts where the exemplary leadership of the superintendent has resulted in meaningful outcomes for schools and students. 


The other National Superintendent of the Year® finalists were:

“This award shows that leadership matters,” said Jones as a 2019 National Superintendent of the Year® finalist. “I am so humbled. For me, it means that our district is doing the right work. It means that our teachers, our principals have worked hard and are being recognized, not only at the state level but also nationally.” 

Jones joined the Bibb County School District in April 2015. Using his classroom and administrative experiences, he developed the district’s strategic plan, “Victory in Our Schools.” The plan has five goal areas: increasing student achievement; increasing student and stakeholder engagement; increasing teacher and leader effectiveness; being a reliable organization; and learning and growth. This plan drives the district’s continuous improvement efforts through shared accountability for all stakeholders and resource alignment.


Now in its 32nd year, the National Superintendent of the Year® program, co-sponsored by AASA, VALIC and First Student, celebrates the contributions and leadership of public school superintendents.


“We congratulate the 2019 Superintendent of the Year®, Curtis Jones, along with the finalists who contribute so much to the advancement of public education,” said Robert Scheinerman, president, group retirement, VALIC, a division of AIG. “Superintendents work so hard to support the students in their districts and they play a critical role in shaping tomorrow’s leaders. VALIC is proud to serve as a co-sponsor of the AASA National Superintendent of the Year® program and recognize such strong leaders. For more than 60 years, VALIC has been committed to our nation’s educators and the important work they do to help students learn, achieve and grow.”


“Curtis Jones and the three National Superintendent of the Year® finalists all exemplify the highest standards when it comes to leading a school district,” said First Student President Dennis R. Maple. “Superintendents are vital to the success of our public schools, and an exceptional superintendent creates a ripple effect with lasting influence. Superintendent Jones’ leadership can be felt in the lives of students and the future of the community. We are honored to partner with AASA in a program that has a profound impact on the lives of students throughout our country.”  


“We truly appreciate the positive contributions being made by Curtis Jones on behalf of the students learning and growing at Bibb County Schools,” said Daniel A. Domenech, executive director, AASA. “It is an honor to congratulate Superintendent Jones, as well as our other three finalists, Jeff Butts, Mary Ann Ranells and Brian Woods. These individuals are all champions for children. We are excited to recognize them at our conference where we annually convene the foremost education thought leaders. I thank VALIC and First Student for supporting our program.” 


Members of the 2019 AASA National Superintendent of the Year® Award Blue Ribbon Selection Committee include:

  • Rich Bagin, executive director, National School Public Relations Association, Rockville, Md.
  • Wanda Cook-Robinson (former National Superintendent of the Year® finalist, 2013), superintendent, Oakland Schools, Waterford, Mich.
  • Tom Gentzel, executive director and CEO, National School Boards Association, Alexandria, Va.
  • Patricia Neudecker (past AASA president), director, School Leadership Programs, Alverno College, Milwaukee, Wis.
  • Darline Robles, professor, Clinical EducationUniversity of Southern California, Los Angeles, Calif.
  • Thomas Tucker, 2016 National Superintendent of the Year®, superintendent, Douglas County School District, Castle Rock, Colo.

The AASA National Superintendent of the Year® program is open to all U.S. superintendents who plan to continue in the profession. The program also honors Canadian and other international school superintendents. The applicants were measured against the following criteria:

  • Leadership for learning – creativity in successfully meeting the needs of students in the school system;
  • Communication – strength in both personal and organizational communication;
  • Professionalism – constant improvement of administrative knowledge and skills, while providing professional development opportunities and motivation to others on the education team; and
  • Community involvement – active participation in local community activities and an understanding of regional, national and international issues.
A $10,000 college scholarship will be presented in the name of the 2019 AASA National Superintendent of the Year® to a student in the high school from which the superintendent graduated, or the school now serving the same area.

For more information about the program, contact Jennifer Rooney, AASA assistant director, meetings, at

Click here to access a list of the AASA 2018 State Superintendents of the Year. For more information about the 2019 National Conference on Education, access AASA’s Conference Daily Online


2480 Post Road, Warwick, RI  02886

Mailing Address:  PO Box 7791, Warwick, RI  02887

(p) 401.272.9811, Press 3
(f) 401.272.9834
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software